Yum! Red velvet cupcakes

Back to baking! It would be good to mention that I got a paper cut of sorts from a Rice Krispies box while frantically searching for cupcake holders, prior to baking. It seems that an inanimate object, such as a paper box is a hazard to my very existence. Rest assured, in the end I found the cupcake holders, and my finger seems to be recovering decently.


I decided to make red velvet cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, and some people like variation of it – some like it without the frosting, others like eating the frosting on its own, so it really is a personal choice at the end of the day. It was just before twilight when I began so the weather complemented the baking process quite well. Once I poured the mixture into the frilly white cupcake holders, the oven was at 180 degrees Celsius and ready to receive a batch of almost-cupcakes.


While baking in the oven, a perfect window of opportunity opened for me to begin making the cream cheese frosting. I combined softened butter and cream cheese in a glass bowl, then added icing sugar and beat it until it was a perfectly integrated and looked to be a smooth consistency. I used cling wrap to cover the top of the glass bowl, then popped it into the fridge for 30 minutes. After a while, my cupcakes were baked and smelling delicious! I left it out to cool for approximately 45 minutes.


I then proceeded to transfer the cream cheese frosting into the piping bag with a simple nozzle, after which the much awaited piping began! I had so much fun baking and then piping the cream cheese frosting onto these red velvet cupcakes! I was quite happy with the outcome. Cupcakes after my own heart.

Leave a Reply

